Skip to main content


The ASC Z97 Committee is the group of member companies maintaining and leading the development of the ANSI Z97.1 voluntary standard for safety glazing materials used in buildings. The Committee recently re-approved the ANSI Z97.1-2015 (R2020) version of the standard and will be preparing to initiate its five-year review process soon in anticipation of publishing the 2025 version.

The ASC Z97 Committee currently consists of 28 member companies spanning membership categories that include: general interest, testing labs, professional trade organizations, fabricators/distributors, component manufacturers and users. The Committee must maintain a certain balance among the six categories: user, component manufacturer, fabricator/distributor, professional society/trade organization, testing lab and general interest.

For more details, contact Committee Secretary Julia Schimmelpennigh, or complete an application to be considered for membership.

Membership Forms

Membership Application

Membership Application

Membership Form

Membership Change Request

Voting Proxy Form

Voting Proxy Form

Steering Committee Application

Steering Committee Application

Already a member of the ASC Z97 Committee and interested in taking a more active role in committee governance? Consider applying for the ASC Z97 Steering Committee.

Accredited Standards Committee Members

Edward Conrath

ASC Z97 Individual Member

Brian Gartner

ASC Z97 Individual Member

Geys Gomez

Interlayer Solutions

Priya Desai

Guardian Glass, LLC

Ron Hull


Jeff Haberer

Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions

John Kent

ASC Z97 Individual Member

Debra Levy

ASC Z97 Individual Member

Brian Louks

Viracon Inc. 

Kayla Natividad

Pilkington North America, Inc. 

Shane Merryman

Consolidated Glass Corp.

Bernie Herron

ASC Z97 Individual Member

Thomas Mickley





Michael Stavreff

3M Construction Markets Division

Scott Norville

ASC Z97 Individual Member

William Nugent

Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates

Devin Bowman

Technical Glass Products

Julia Schmmelpenningh

Eastman Chemical Company

Ilona Schmidt

Corning Incorporated

Darrell Smith


Urmilla Sowell

National Glass Association

David Morrison

Roehm America LLC

Margaret Webb


Richard Wright

Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope

Michelle Phan

Cardinal Glass Industries



Task Groups

  • Update and enhance testing requirements and acceptance criteria of the standard.
  • Objectives:
    • Testing all products to failure
    • Center Punch Fragmentation Test Inclusion
    • Mode of Breakage Interpretation
    • Ball drop testing for QC of Laminated
  • To review and establish the purpose and limitations of the standard.
  • Objectives:
    • Single or Multiple standard(s) to cover products
    • Retention/Containment Rating/Classification
    • Harmonization with other standards
    • Insulating Glass Testing
    • Product substitutions
  • Review and update existing labeling requirements of the standard.
  • Objectives
    • Cutting and Labeling Laminated Glass
    • Plastics & Films
    • Thickness
  • Review and update existing reference standards.
  • Objectives
    • Weathering Requirement Update